Quek Gim Pew


Mr Quek Gim Pew is a Director of SMRT Trains Ltd.

Mr Quek graduated from the National University of Singapore (NUS) with a Bachelor of Engineering (1st Class Hons) in Electrical Engineering in 1981, and a Master of Science (Distinction) in Electrical Engineering from the Naval Postgraduate School, USA in 1986.

In his career, Mr Quek has held various appointments in the defence and technology community including Director of R&D at Singapore Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) and the Deputy Chief Executive (Technology) of the Defence Science & Technology Agency (DSTA). He was the Chief Executive Officer of DSO from 1 February 2004 to 30 June 2016 and the Chief Defence Scientist of MINDEF from 1 April 2016 to 14 May 2021.

Mr Quek is the Senior R&D Consultant of MINDEF and he sits on various boards of organizations, institutions and companies. He is a Board member of the A*Star and Technology Centre for Offshore and Marine, Singapore (TCOMS). He is also a member of the Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) Board of Trustees, Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) Board of Trustees and NUS High School (NUSHS) of Mathematics and Science Board of Governors.

He is the Deputy Chairman of the Office for Space Technology and Industry (OSTIn).

He is also a Fellow of the Academy of Engineering, Singapore and an Adjunct Professor in the NUS Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Mr Quek was presented the Defence Technology Prize (Individual) in 1992. He was also conferred the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2007 and the NUS Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award in 2014.